Skip to navigation

Smart Matters

Get Connected on YaleNet.orgGet Connected on
Welcome To YaleNet - Boola Boola Bulldog Rules
get connected with your One Click Club
YaleNet is YOU - ADD CONTENT, browse or   Search -->


This is a pioneering study that will insure that children, from whom we demand responsibility and accountability, will be also be treated accordingly without unjust punishment. I salute the Yale group, with our own Craig Levin's (B.A.'87) , in this effort -- Cornell Brooks (YLS '90), Senior Counsel & Policy Director, NJISJ


We are delighted to announce that the Juvenile Justice Reform Task Force of the YAAMNY Public Service/Social Justice Committee has been awarded the Community Builder Award from the New Jersey Institute for Social Justice (the Institute).  The Task Force has been collaborating with the Institute and the Public Catalyst Group to advocate for reform of New Jerseys juvenile waiver laws.

The Task Force is a multidisciplinary task force whose mission is to:

(i)            advocate for reform of the juvenile justice system; and
(ii)           assist at risk juveniles in obtaining access to social services and resources (whether they be federal, state or local) and (B) assist juveniles who have been adjudicated as delinquent in gaining access to these resources both while in secure facilities and thereafter in an attempt to prevent recidivism.

The Institute is a Newark-based urban research and advocacy organization dedicated to the advancement of New Jersey's urban areas and residents whose work is to identify, analyze and address the underlying causes of social and economic disparities and to challenge the barriers that constrain cities and their residents from achieving their full potential.

The Institutes Executive Director, Cornell Brooks, is an alumnus of Yale Law School (YLS 90), and its Senior Counsel & Policy Director, Craig Levine, is an alumnus of Yale College (B.A. 87).

The Task Force will receive the award at the Institutes annual gala in the spring where the Institute will also be presenting Jon Corzine with the Amy and Alan Lowenstein Social Justice Award, and Larry Goldman (CEO of NJPAC) with a Lifetime Community Achievement Award.

For more information about the Task Force, please contact Karin Weiner  at This email address is hidden from email harvesters via JavaScript